A lot goes into designing. Between the famous white page (or canvas), collecting imaging, drawing and scrunching concepts, eventually a “light bulb” moment will happen. We hope! See, when I start, I never know what the end result will be. I can, on occasion visualise an idea from talking to my client, but more often than not it takes a while before it comes together.

I can spend hours looking at things in books and online and some of it will only be useful in the future. That’s the trick, you never know when it comes in handy. It is stored as a visual memory or even an emotion until the time is right.

One of the things I like is “happy accidents” as I call them. Because they are the results of turning a page upside down, seeing something online, drawing some lines of the cuff and suddenly the whole thing comes together. Ta-da! But don’t get me wrong, it is not as easy as that and they are the result of my brain engaging in that design from the moment I start and collecting elements for it that simmer gently like a casserole dish. I can’t rush it and it will be better if I take my time. The thing is it is almost a necessary evil and can give the impression that design is finally taking it’s toll on my sanity but I know from experience that it is the secret ingredient.

Finally and maybe more importantly there is the end point where it is done. Nothing more needs adding otherwise there is the risk of destroying the core of what make that design work. So knowing when to stop is as important than the rest of the process.

Talking of which, it is now time for my next dose of visual collecting…

Leave a Reply

