Unlimited creative heaven

During my few years in business I have been around the block a few times and found myself frustrated. Why? because many tools out there did not feel right, they felt forced and controlled. Now, the wind of change is blowing and I am finding more things that are pushing me forward and I can’t help but sharing!

I am getting excited. Very excited. I could skip around… I could, couldn’t I?

I will let you into a little secret…

Many people out there sell us the same stuff, over and over again. They re-word it, re-package it but fundamentally, it rarely has anything new to it.

Now if you look at Pinterest, it is the opposite. Why? Because in the few months I have been using it, they have managed to surprise me, excite me and inspire me all together or one after another. Their business model is fresh and creative. Yes it is a challenge to over protective copyright (and I am all for protecting artwork) but the way they have done it is to share content and inspire whilst spreading the word. Now you can stick to copyright and not sharing. Yep, you can do that. Chances are that your stuff won’t be seen much.

But if you dare… just a little… you may discover there is a whole world out there that is eager to see good, crazy, inspiring, exciting, fresh contents may it be a product or a skill that people have. Blogs are getting promoted there brilliantly and now they have granted us unlimited secret boards! (caveat here, this may be for business only I am not sure yet) … (yes business only). For me this means creative heaven.Image

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/hadock/8283968595/”>_Hadock_</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Let me explain this if you think I have lost it over a very small change. This is an opportunity…

… for sharing creative boards with other people

… developing communities

… exchanging ideas

… research in clusters rather than big boards so that info is easier to find

… preparing some promotion and releasing when you are ready, think about product or event launch

… prepare a more colourful and inspired in situ promotion, less formal and more individual to your clients

… give a new tool to your team to come up with new concepts and ideas and give your staff some space to come up with ideas. You may be surprised…

I have started sharing boards with people I know, made them specific to a project I am either working on or researching and it is amazing how much difference this has made to my work recently. The cherry on that cake is that everyone involved also got something out of it. (By the way, this is not just me. Some big brands like Sephora use it in the same way! see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fwhB6Kkjtg&feature=youtu.be)

So I am only saying… what can Pinterest do for you? And if my excitement is blurring the content, drop me a line and I will be happy to guide through the experience I have of it so far.

Leave a Reply

