Because I cannot see

Since I was a little girl, I dreamed of an inclusive world, one that does not care for rules (apart from one’s freedom stops when one’s starts, and we should not hurt others), where we have one beautiful world and great people on it. We should not have boundaries to separate countries having people fighting over territories. We should be understanding of differences of opinion, races, beliefs and not impose them o others. We should embrace difference and that, I’m afraid is still with me to this day.

So, when I go to an exhibition, I make it count. I either learn something or it opens my eyes onto something I did not see or know before. This weekend, I went to the Poly in Falmouth for an exhibition called “because I cannot see” by the student Tom Pullen. In 5 months, he has put together a stunning collection of photographic portraits of visually impaired individuals through a sensory experience for all. Why is 5 months relevant? Because achieving what he has achieved in such a small amount of time (even if he won’t agree with that bit) is no small thing. First he had to make many new connections to meet  and then go to clubs, listen to stories, take the portraits and include elements like Braille, interviews available on earphones and 3D blocks of his photographs. Now I know from past collaborative projects that this last bit alone has taken quite some time in developing… Tom manages to makes us understand glimpses of people’s lives, some that we don’t know about or don’t understand. I learnt not seeing did not stop you dancing, playing guitar, shooting, gardening and making art. Actually the socials groups mentioned in this exhibition probably have been a life saving activity for many. If you would like to know more or even visit a future venue for his work you can contact Tom at tom@tompullen.co.uk as the exhibition finishes early this week. (This was a week ago as I did not get the chance to post this earlier)

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen. Art created by visually impaired people joining in sculpture, drawing and weaving workshops

Because I cannot see exhibition by Tom Pullen. Art created by visually impaired people joining in sculpture, drawing and weaving workshops

My little P. now 3 1/2 enjoyed it too because she could listen to music or stories and she is open to new experiences. I will build on that. I just wished that people in general did check these things out because there are many stories untold and many great people to meet. And if you think about it everyone is different and everyone needs love and social interaction… It means slowing down and taking the time  to hold a hand, listen and ask questions. So what about challenging yourself this week and open one door, talk to someone you usually would not talk to, get involved in a new project or look into something you have no knowledge of? You never know what you may discover about others and about yourself too…

Enjoy a preview of the exhibition through these photos but go there and touch, feel, listen… well done Tom and I wish you every success in your career.

Leave a Reply

