Diary of a photo shoot

Wednesday 20th of August

So after what seem along time, I agreed a time with Simone of Unleashed Photography and today is the day.

I slept badly last time, it was a little bit like Christmas day and waiting to open the presents!

7 am.  Getting up. This is a beautiful day, blue sky and tiny cloud.  All good. Time for breakfast  and getting little Please ready for summer school.

7.29am. Text from Simon.  Forecast says rain for this morning. Frantic search of online forecasts and most say it is ok.

8.31am. Texting Simone back. Going anyway. Will do work at the Blue Cafe and worse case scenario, I can do some work with a sea view.

9.00am. School drop off. Bags in the car. I’m off. It is getting very cloudy. Rain has started in Newquay where Simone is. Damn!

9.39am. Driving along. 10 minutes in. Phone rings.  Can’t pick up. I park safely as soon as I can and I call back Simone.  Agree to move photo shoot to this afternoon.  Call to my friend Sara who steps in and will look after my little one. Driving back home!

Planning a photo shoot on the beach is very weather dependent.  I know that after all, I live in Cornwall. So in a few hours, we will attempt the session again. Where would we go without mobiles and texts?

1.34pm. The weather has been terrible this morning but by lunchtime, it is brightening up and everything is going ahead. Finalising the time and setting off. I am now getting excited. My outfits are in the car and basic things I think I will need like make-up bag, money for the car park and drink.

2.25pm. This is it. We head toward the rocks on Porthtowan beach and drop bags, only taking the camera with us. The sun is blinding and Simone has to check angles so that I don’t squint too much. I take different poses. We talk about what I want the pictures to project and how I will use them. Before the shoot, I made a board on Pinterest about pictures and effects I liked so she already knows what I am hoping for.

4.30pm. It is in the box. Now I have to be patient to see the pictures. Being a photographer myself, the suspense is killing!

9.08pm. Simone has just texted me telling me there are beautiful pictures, some good enough to be on the mantelpiece.

9.13pm. One picture has come through. I like it but I’m not sure what to think of it. Gosh we can be so critical when we see pictures about ourselves (you won’t get a “selfie” from me!)

darkrock2

but this shoot is important for me. Not only I am planning to use it on my blog, my whole marketing documents and also for The Launch 2014, a black tie event happening on the 23rd of October (more on that later).

 

Thursday 21st of August

7.30pm. Another photo comes through. The excitement is increasing, This picture is even better than the one I got yesterday. I can’t wait to see the rest!

bigsmile

 

 

Sunday 24th of August

3.12pm. All pictures are available through Simone’s website. She gives me all the indications to download them via a secure access. I can see the whole selection of pictures she has chosen and edited. I breathe… happy! This is what I was looking for. She got it, she got me and it shows. I can now start “playing with” the images in postcards and see how I can use them.

Tips for people having a photo shoot

1. Think about what you stand for and what your brand represents. Collect some images and show them to your photographer. It will help him or her to take shots that you will be happy with.

2. If you are doing the shoot outdoors, be ready, like me in this blog, to clear another slot in your diary with no guarantees. Take your laptop to a nearby cafe if you have to wait for the weather to clear. At least you won’t feel you are wasting your time. Agree the meeting place beforehand so that you know what to do if the location has no phone signal.

3. Take the time to choose your outfit or selection of outfits. There is only one first impression and your choice will impact how you project.. Pack a change, you never know. Take what you need for hair and make up touch-ups.

4. Relax. Easy to say but be yourself. If you are struggling, tell your photographer and she/he can tell you one or two funny stories to make you smile. I did that and we both ended up smiling.

5. Clear beforehand how much is included and whether another session is included if you are unhappy with the results the first time.

6. Mention the photographer anywhere you can. All pictures are protected by copyright but it is nice to mention who took them and other people might want to use this photographer for a future photo shoot.

7. Last but not least, enjoy!

8. The details of Simone are available on www.unleashedphotography.co.uk

6 thoughts on “Diary of a photo shoot

    • Hi Helen. I think people get nervous in getting their picture taken but if you have a small business for example, people like to know who is behind it. The pictures don’t have to be stiff or formal. In fact they can be the opposite and let your passion shine through. Thanks for reading and let me know if you have yours done. x Gaelle

    • Thank you Sara. All I need now is to do more cards with the different elements of my work, a whole collection to com.
      Congratulations in getting your blog up and running. Good luck in joining the “blogosphere”. x

    • Yes Natalie, Simone did. Before the shoot I showed her pictures I liked so she had a good starting point. I also told her what my work and company stood for and the things I liked like muted colours, natural textures and beachy related things. I would recommend a photo shoot. Find someone you like, Discuss beforehand and if you are happy you will have fun and pictures you are very proud of using.
      Thank you for reading. :) Gaelle

Leave a Reply

