Breathing again

This was a beautiful summer, bright and dry days, lots of sunshine and despite this it has been one of the hardest I have been through. After the previous year with the end of renovation and a stressful move, I did not think we could top this but I was wrong. Cancer killing slowly my dad (or quickly whichever way you want to look at it), being ill myself for most of the last 3 months, It has only been 3 days since my mind has started to become clear again, my body functioning as it should and my brain being to handle times ahead. No doubt the next few weeks will be challenging but this is not the story tonight.

I am behind in my work and in less than 3 weeks, I will be part of the Launch 2014, a black-tie event launching about 16 companies locally to where I live in Truro, Cornwall. I am part of the organizing team and this event that seemed so far for so long is now so close. I need to sort out my display, start pulling my weight about the promotion and help to iron concerns and questions that participants may have.

So what is this event I hear you asking? Well, earlier this year, Abbi my friend suggesting renting a village hall and showcase our work with  a glass of wine and a few biscuits. Our mentor Spencer shook this plan and told us to add sparkle and pazzazz! So here we are, a few months later, just about to have a first for the region in the stunning location of the Alverton Manor great hall.

I am getting nervous and the next few days I will have to decide how to best showcase what I do. What do I show? I have designed, created and dreamed new crafts and artworks. All I need is a bit of magic to make them materialize themselves. I am using more materials and techniques than before and that it itself is exciting.

So leave it with me and give me a few days to craft lovingly made artworks filled with emotion. You may catch a glimpse of new work but this is a launch after all so a touch of mystery is required…

So catch up with this blog and the following links www.thelaunch2014.co.uk, www.facebook.com/pages/The-Launch-2014/494030527375900?ref=hl and follow us on #thelaunch2014. Cheers everybody!

The Launch 2014 logo

The Launch 2014 logo

2 thoughts on “Breathing again

Leave a Reply

