In a child’s mind…

… there are wonderful things, magical things and colours, lots of it. There is nothing that can’t be done. In fact, the world is an open shell where the most wonderful things can happen and they will help in any way they can. Children know what they like. That means they are tricky customers and they like to be involved. So my latest lampshade is for a 4 year old little strong mind, passionate about dogs and rainbow colours. When I started working with watercolours, I painted blobs of colours that happily spread into the fibres of the paper. My little one added a few drops of colour with a carefully applied brush and once done, we had a colourful base to work from. I then worked on some purple, pink and green threads free motion embroidery. I did not have any other brief on this one other than colours and lots of it so it was probably a bit more colourful than some of my recent work but I have to say I really enjoyed making it. I am also very pleased with the result and my little client is happy too. Not bad for a day’s work! Blooms detail So here are some pictures from painting to the final lampshade. Let me know what you think and if you ever consider asking me for a commission, don’t hesitate. This is great fun for all parties involved. BloomsBlooms lit

Leave a Reply

